Jump to content

  • Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Photo
RELEASED

Public Beta - FTX Day Night Switcher - Can double your FPS



  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
141 replies to this topic

#21 John Dow

John Dow

    Life Member

  • Orbx Team
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,749 posts
  • LocationAbout 5km W of YSCB

Posted 19 October 2011 - 12:12 PM

Well well well, just gave it a test run from KSEA northwards and it seems to work!

I have a standard fsx.cfg except for:


[TERRAIN]
TERRAIN_MAX_AUTOGEN_TREES_PER_CELL=1000
TERRAIN_MAX_AUTOGEN_BUILDINGS_PER_CELL=800

All sliders FTX recommended, with Detail Radius set to Large.

With autogen set to extremely dense I had a smooth flight, with fps between 18-26 mostly, whereas before I was lucky to get 13-20fps with autogen set to very dense only. Headed out over the bay and down to Vashon Island, and fps rose to 26-30, except when I looked over towards Boeing field and KSEA in the distance, when it dropped to 15-22 for some reason.

So for me at the moment it's definitely a keeper!
Posted Image
Intel i7 920 at 4.0GHz, Noctua Cooler, Gigabyte EX58 Extreme MoBo, 6GB RAM, MSI GTX 660, Windows 7 Ultimate and FSX Gold, CH Yoke and Pedals USB, TrackIR 5, EZCA.

#22 Ron Attwood

Ron Attwood

    Life Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,074 posts
  • LocationChelmsförd, Essex, UK

Posted 19 October 2011 - 12:25 PM

- Ron: just select 'Night' to revert to 'normal'


Thanks Tim. I do quite a bit of early dusk to early evening type flying and I do enjoy seeing the twinkling lights gradually appear. (you old softy!) If I turn on 'Day' for that scenario, will I lose the twinkles? I'm guessing yes.

#23 Eric C

Eric C

    Life Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,733 posts
  • LocationKJAX

Posted 19 October 2011 - 12:38 PM

Great innovation team, will try it later this afternoon.

VWvD4.jpg

3.4GHz Intel Core i7-2600K Quad-Core 8GB RAM 1TB 7200rpm Hard Drive DVD Burner nVIDIA GeForce GTX 550Ti 1GB GPU Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit) Liquid Cooling System

 

FSX with Acceleration.

 

REX Essential OD, REX 4, ENB, EZCA, FSWC, Track IR. 

 

FTX/Orbx Scenery + REX is Simply the Best!


#24 Handie

Handie

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • LocationFrance 59

Posted 19 October 2011 - 02:20 PM

Hello,
For installation " FTX Day Night Switcher ", it is necessary to put FTX Central at " Default FSX " or it does not matter ?

Nadine

Spoiler

i7-2600k 3.8 GHz, Asus P8P67 Pro, Antec TruePower New 750, Gainward GeForce GTX 570 GLH 1280, 2 VelociRaptor 600 Go, Corsair Vengeance Series 8 Go PC14900, Noctua NH-D14, Windows 7 ( 64 bits ), Ecran Dell 27' 1920x1200

#25 Dean (PC Aviator)

Dean (PC Aviator)

    Grand Master Simmer, PC Aviator Oz

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,965 posts
  • LocationBrisbane

Posted 19 October 2011 - 02:28 PM

Interesting! Will download and give it a shot this weekend. Quite a find if it works :)
Manager - PC Aviator Australia
The Flight Simulation Company!
Retailing Sim DVD Software, Downloads, Hardware and Accessories
We ship worldwide with FAST dispatch!
http://www.pcaviator.com.au/store
[Facebook] [Twitter] [Blog] [Scoop.it] [Paper.li]

Posted Image

#26 Heiko Glatthorn

Heiko Glatthorn

    YRED, YHBA, 1S2, 3W5, KORS, 2WA1, S43, 0S9, W16, NZMF, EGTF

  • Orbx Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,081 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 02:39 PM

Hello,
For installation " FTX Day Night Switcher ", it is necessary to put FTX Central at " Default FSX " or it does not matter ?


It is not linked to FTX Central, it doesn't matter. You'll find two extra shortcuts on your desktop :) .

Cheers
Heiko
sig_developer.png

3930K - 4.8 Ghz, water cooled | ASUS P9X79 | G.Skill 16GB @ 2400 MHz | 2x Intel X25-M G2 160 GB SSD | Corsair AX1200i | ASUS GTX780-DC2OC | Win7 Ultimate 64

 


#27 Handie

Handie

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • LocationFrance 59

Posted 19 October 2011 - 02:46 PM

Thank you Heiko, I will do the installation and test ;)

Nadine

Spoiler

i7-2600k 3.8 GHz, Asus P8P67 Pro, Antec TruePower New 750, Gainward GeForce GTX 570 GLH 1280, 2 VelociRaptor 600 Go, Corsair Vengeance Series 8 Go PC14900, Noctua NH-D14, Windows 7 ( 64 bits ), Ecran Dell 27' 1920x1200

#28 IanF

IanF

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 02:50 PM

Question, does this app just shut off just ftx lights? It would be nice if it could do it for UTX at the same time, one click app for better overall performance.
Ian Beggs
FSS0100792 (PNW, PFJ, NRM) FSS0144639 (AUS SP4, NZSI, PAKT) FSS0169003 (KJAC) FSS0157138 (CRM)

I7 975 Extreme @ 4.0 Ghz
EVGA GTX 480 SuperClocked
Gigabyte X58-UD7
6GB Corsair Dominator 1600
Raptors
Corsair 800D Obsidian
W7 64 bit
HP 24 In Widescreen
BOSE Companion 3
Sound Blaster X-fi Titanium

#29 lthendrix

lthendrix

    arch duke bird in hand

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,499 posts
  • Locationflight path of KCRQ

Posted 19 October 2011 - 05:07 PM

Ok so it removes the autogen light poles. But I assume the light poles around the track field at 3w5 wont go away as they are hand placed correct. And also can I just set it on day and then turn on utx night lighting now ?

ftxcustomer.png
72900....................and on and on,....!..................................

Cooler master HAF 912 gigabyte Z77x

Intel 3rd Gen Core i7 3770K (4.3 GHz Overclock) Quad Core ,

Antec 920 Dual Stage CPU Liquid Cooling ,

8GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM 1866MHz ,

2GB Nvidia GeForce GTX 680, GDDR5, PCIe

27" dell monitor 2056 x 1440


#30 jadeguy

jadeguy

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 136 posts
  • LocationEdmonton, Alberta, Canada

Posted 19 October 2011 - 05:24 PM

Fantastic results so far! Took off from Vancouver with all scenery settings pinned to the right except water at low 2x. Road traffic 22%. Flew around downtown with framerate between about 25 and 60. Super smooth with negligible stuttering. Then I headed east (lots of clouds going on with REX BTW) and then north up one of the ranges while I watched the FPS spike up to the 130's. HOLY!!

Mucho thanks!

Orcas 86954: 1S2,PNW 52352; PFJ 83571; Lancair, NRM 84726; Concrete 71378; Avalon 33873; AUGold 42591;
Tamworth 49644; Caloundra 51549; AUBlue 9708 FTX Global

i5 [email protected] Asus P8Z68V 8GB Kingston 1333 GTX 760SC 4GB


#31 GlennH

GlennH

    Life Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 763 posts
  • LocationGananoque, Ontario

Posted 19 October 2011 - 05:40 PM

Cant wait to try this later........Does 74S have a lot of light poles coded? This may help around there too.

i7 2600k @ 4.6 Ghz (1.33v)
MSI 770GTX OC Edition
8 GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133 mhz
1 x 1 TB Seagate 7200.12 HD (data drive)
1 x Crucial M4 128GB SSD (Win 7 Install)

1 x Sandisk Ultra 256GB SSD (FSX Install)
Corsair TX750 PSU
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler
Corsair 600T Case
Windows 7 64

 

 

FSS0105054 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


#32 Jaggyroad

Jaggyroad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 08:17 PM

<----- Testing this out and will post results.

#33 John Venema

John Venema

    Orbx CEO

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 21,622 posts
  • LocationHampshire UK
  • Order #:Staff

Posted 19 October 2011 - 08:46 PM

Yes we will update FTX Central for P3D to also use this.
Regards,
JV


#34 amentiba

amentiba

    Life Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationParis - France

Posted 19 October 2011 - 09:03 PM

3/4 fps gain on my rig as average score, but sometime more. A flight confortably smooth and no freezes. I have no doubt that on a good computer the gain should be increased ;)

ftxcustomer.png

Core I7 4770K @ 3.5 Ghz / 16Go Ram / Nvidia GeForce GTX 760 2Go DDR5/ Win7 64 bits

FTX AU SP3 DVD 258605 including YSCH Coff's Harbour / FTX NA PNW 63852 / FTX NA CRM 0115303 / YBAS-NZSI-PAKT 0135382 NZNI 0175372 FTX NA SAK 0215688

FTX NA NCA 0269381 / FTX NA PFJ 81986 / FTX NA NRM - YBCS - KORS 84474 
YHBA - YSTW - YPJT 60807 / 3W5 68083 / YCDR - YPEC - YWVA 63180 / WA56 68084 / YMML 61791 / WA79 73927 / 77S-OG39-W16 0199850

EU ENGLAND 0188443 / EU WALES 0203591 / EU NIR 230179 / EU IRL 0250192 / EU SCOTLAND 0219160 / EGSG-EGTH-EGKA-EGHR 205406
YCNK 64057 / NZMF-CYBD-KSFF 0199650 / YBBN 64221 / 7S3 83283 YMML V2 76879 / 1S2 0101248
KCMW 0101248 / KBVS 0130486 / YPMQ 0116294 / 74S 0129888 / YMAV 0109952 YBUD - YSCB - LANCAIR IV-P 91860 / 2WA1 0116979 
YMMB-0S9 0145817 / CZST 0165885 / PAEN 0272251 / YMEN-1WA6 0122917 / S43 0139981 / 2W3 0156773 / KPSP 326057 / NZQN 233628

YWOL-W52 0157753 / KJAC 0168744 / PAJN 0232919 / KRDD 273462 / PAGS 273849 / KMRY 291232 / KTVL - CYSE - S45 329885

 

 

"Sometimes we take it for granted, thoses little things like food, like freedom..." Bodycount - "Born Dead"

 


#35 anthony31

anthony31

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 09:21 PM

Well done Tim.

An impressive boost to framerates here.

Tested at YSSY with autogen at dense. Framerates went from 56 to 80. A 40% improvement.

I notice this is modifying the miscellenous_lib_orbx.bgl. Is it just replacing the lightpoles with FX models with lightpoles without FX models or are the lightpoles with FX being completely removed?
Blue+Gold :FSS 10746
Green :FSS 11365
Red+Coffs: FSS 14229
NZSI+Canberra FSS 143412
PNW PC Aviator 28869

#36 Jaggyroad

Jaggyroad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 09:46 PM

I am seeing a slight increase with DX10 enabled. I have not tested it with DX9. Perhaps a 4-10 FPS jump around the major cities? Around KSEA facing the city itself I didn't see such a large increase, but over it itself I did. I took some pictures, but they show negligible difference, so there is no point in posting. I do recommend this, and I am sure people's experiences will vary drastically.

Of note, the weather around Seattle is quite poor. That may have some performance impact. I did not have enough time to test these results fully, under various conditions.

#37 GrayRider

GrayRider

    Life Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 592 posts
  • LocationTucson,Arizona

Posted 19 October 2011 - 10:43 PM

Just one question for now.

When I run the beta installer.Where does the installer put it.My FSX is on my F: Drive HD?,or does it need to be installed anywhere in particular?.

GrayRider

Thermaltake Armor Full Tower, ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen 3, Intel i7 2600K SandyBridge 3.4 GHz - OC to 4.6 GHz, Corsair H70 Hydro CPU cooler, 16 Gigs of GSkill Ripjaw DDR3 - 1600, EVGA GTX570HD, 2500 MB of GDDR 5, 2.5GB, Corsair TX850 P/S, HT Omega 7.1 sound, AData S510 SATA III 120 GB SSD for boot drive, OCZ Vertex4 512 GB SATA III for my FSX drive, Samsung 2TB 7200rpm SATA II for backup, Monitor - BenQ XL2420-B 24" ultimate LED Gaming Monitor.

 FSS0306989 (KTVL)
ftxcustomer.png


#38 Martin Henare

Martin Henare

    Life Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,745 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 10:58 PM

Well done Tim.

An impressive boost to framerates here.

Tested at YSSY with autogen at dense. Framerates went from 56 to 80. A 40% improvement.

I notice this is modifying the miscellenous_lib_orbx.bgl. Is it just replacing the lightpoles with FX models with lightpoles without FX models or are the lightpoles with FX being completely removed?


This is really a very basic tweak, All it does is replace the light pole models that have the light effect attached with a dummy model with no light effect. Its the Effect attachment processing that seems to be the choker of performance.

We will look at seeing if we can tweak this a bit more once we get feedback from you all. On thing we may do is improve the look of the lightpole model so for day time ops you still have poles, just that they wont have the effect processing associated with them, but we should be able to reduce the weird flicker they have because if the light colour.
Marty

i7 950 3Ghz| Gigabyte GA-X58A | 6Gb DDR3 | GeForce GTX 480 | 128GB SSD | 1TB HDD | SyncMaster 305T LCD 2560x1600 | Thermaltake 750W PSU | Thermaltake Armour A90 Tower | W7 64bit |

#39 Tim Harris

Tim Harris

    Developer

  • Orbx Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,979 posts
  • LocationAustralia
  • Order #:N/A

Posted 19 October 2011 - 11:03 PM

Hi Grayrider, The installer will find your FSX location via the windows registry just like all our other installers

@Ant, thanks!, it is only a simple tweak, the lightpoles are swapped to a dummy model, we may introduce a daytime pole with no effects so you still 'see' the poles, but first we must test a few things

@Ian and ithendrix, we cannot interfere with another product such as UTX, so this works only for FTX regions! any custom made apron lights (like at Bowerman airport) will still remain, this only affects the bent-top streetlights in the autogen


Cheers
Tim

Cheers, Tim
sig_developer.png
i7-960 - P6T - GTX670 - 24GB ram - Windows 7 64bit - P3DV2.3

Orbx products  http://www.orbxsyste...322-tim-harris/
Aircraft repaints  http://meatyskins.blogspot.com.au/


#40 GrayRider

GrayRider

    Life Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 592 posts
  • LocationTucson,Arizona

Posted 19 October 2011 - 11:18 PM

I did forget to ask.When I use it one day(Daytime) fine.What happens when I'm done flying for that day,and close FSX.Does the program go back to normal like I didn't have it installed etc.

GrayRider

Thermaltake Armor Full Tower, ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen 3, Intel i7 2600K SandyBridge 3.4 GHz - OC to 4.6 GHz, Corsair H70 Hydro CPU cooler, 16 Gigs of GSkill Ripjaw DDR3 - 1600, EVGA GTX570HD, 2500 MB of GDDR 5, 2.5GB, Corsair TX850 P/S, HT Omega 7.1 sound, AData S510 SATA III 120 GB SSD for boot drive, OCZ Vertex4 512 GB SATA III for my FSX drive, Samsung 2TB 7200rpm SATA II for backup, Monitor - BenQ XL2420-B 24" ultimate LED Gaming Monitor.

 FSS0306989 (KTVL)
ftxcustomer.png






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: RELEASED

2 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users